No Sugar, No Problem…HAHA

So recently I took a food allergy test and learned I have a moderate intolerance to cane sugar and high fructose corn syrup…not to mention pork, strawberries and other fun things to eat. My mild list is quite long and includes spices, some I have never heard of! On top of that, I am already gluten and dairy free!

All-in-all I am hoping that cutting out these foods for the next 3-6 months will help determine what is causing my fatigue and headaches.

But the fun part (well not so much) is how do you not eat sugar and hfcs? Well all processed foods had to go. Except one GF pasta brand that is just corn flour, which is nice because it is cheap and a quick easy meal when needed. Want to give up sugar for health? My advice to giving up sugar is to take everything that has sugar out of the house. Luckily my co-workers love it when I bring in free food. I will say I do still have a few things like actual sugar and stuff for when people come over, but I keep that out of sight. Like they say out of sight, out of mind.

Then it becomes the point to not buy or eat anything with sugar. You have to read labels carefully, they tend to hide sugar by using a different name. Here is a list from Hungry for Change:

Sucrose, Maltose, Dextrose, Fructose, Glucose, Galactose, Lactose, High fructose corn syrup, Glucose solids, Cane juice, Dehydrated cane juice, Cane juice solids, Cane juice crystals, Dextrin, Maltodextrin, Dextran, Barley malt, Beet sugar, Corn syrup, Corn syrup solids, Caramel, Buttered syrup, Carob syrup, Brown sugar, Brown rice syrup, Date sugar, Malt syrup, Diatase, Diatastic malt, Fruit juice, Fruit juice concentrate, Dehydrated fruit juice, Fruit juice crystals, Golden syrup, Turbinado, Sorghum syrup, Refiner’s syrup, Ethyl maltol, Maple syrup, Yellow sugar

As you can see there are many ways for sugar to sneak into what you are eating. So the question becomes what can I eat? Good old fruit, veggies and meat. But you don’t have to stop there. I have some rice cakes, peanut butter, rice crackers, homemade banana muffins (i’ll add the recipe below), and though this is new I am finding ways to make things I want. I want to make breaded chicken tenders. I have many food restrictions but you may not so it might be easier for you to cut out sugar and still have a lot of options.

I love having green smoothies in the morning (thanks to my sister) with spinach and fruit. Grapes are a great way to sweeten things up. I do use stevia in the raw as my only sweetener in coffee and tea and agave nectar in baking. Stir frys are a great and easy way to mix veggies and meat. I will also add rice. I use spices instead of sauces to keep it simple and have the natural flavors of the meal. One of my favorites is just chicken, rice, peas and thyme. Simple and good.

I have just started on this journey of a diet change and for my own reasons. You might have reasons for wanting to change what you are eating. I encourage you to create meal recipes and meal plans before going to the store and sticking to the list. Stay on the outside sections of the store where there isn’t as much processes food. You got this!

Banana Muffin Recipe:

So this was a test and it turned out good. Not great but not horrible, haha. This is adapted to my needs as I have many restrictions.

2 flax eggs
2 medium ripe bananas
3 tbsp agave nectar
3 tbsp cashew milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
1 12/ cups white rice flour (this is just what I had)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Line muffin tins (i would recommend spraying the liners slightly with oil)
Mix your flax eggs and let them sit
Mash your bananas in a medium bowl
Mix in agave, milk, vanilla, and baking powder
Add flax eggs
Add flour
At this point mine was a bit thick so i added a bit more milk

IMG_0364

Evenly distribute in muffin tins
Bake for 25-30 mins

IMG_0367

Leave a Reply

